Monday, June 22, 2009

A Night of Reading at the Carnegie Center

On Friday evening, the Carnegie Center hosted two readings for two of our very popular writing contests, the Young People's Poetry Contest and the Next Great Writer Competition. Finalists for both contests gathered on Friday evening to share their work and for a small reception. Here are a few photos from the evening:

We want to extend our special congratulations to the finalists and winners of both contests.

Young People's Poetry:

Cinastasha Cable “A Million Candles”

Upper Elementary Winner Annie Deitz “Just Like the Animals”

William Ding “Summer”

Middle/High School Winner Ittai Eres“Birth of the Muse”

Charlie Frederick “My Earth”

Ezekiel Grier “Kentucky”

Early Elementary Winner Sam Hayden “Sea Serpent’s Egg”

Gabe Hillyard “Horses”

Julian T. Little “A New Beginning”

Dani Miller “Daydreamer”

Luc Morgan “Summer”

John Nichols “Beginning as Trickling Drops”

Natalie Pacheco “dissection”

Tamara E. Ray “Fox”

Maggie Rue “Rollercoaster”

Rena Sakai “To America”

Rebecca Sanders “Corpse”

Suzanne Seivers “Homecoming”

Madison Shifflett “I Heard That!”

Abigail Winfield “A Leprechaun’s Favorite Stew”

Next Great Writers:

Katrina Boone*, selected poems

Eva Kristine Cox, Green Feet & B Habby

Virginia Dulworth, The Red Ball

Kari Evely, The Tree

Sarah Glenn, Criticus Ex Machina

1st Place Winner-Jason Grant, The Watercolor Woman and the Empty

Runner-up-Whitney Groves, Elementals

Matthew Haughton*, selected poems

Janet Holloway, Waiting to Know

Hannah LeGris*, You Go Even If She Asks for Me

Barbara Phillips, selected poems

Sacha Pruitt, Heartstrung

Irene Savine*, selected poems

Jesse Sisken, Red Sweater and the Brushes

Jessica Swafford, selected poems

Eric Sutherland, selected poems

James Vincent, Salvaging Fallujah

Charles Edward White, A Gift from the Gods

Jason Williams, selected poems

Morgan Williams*, A Saturday in August

* Denotes an Honorable Mention

We hope you'll enter our next contest, Short Stories ONLY!, deadline is July 31st. Check here for details!


No comments: